Latest News

Executive director hired for foundation

The Hardin County Community Foundation  welcomed Bryan Marshall as its first executive director during its quarterly meeting Tuesday afternoon in Kenton. Marshall takes the role following another successful year for the foundation as its assets grew to a record $12,493,205 as of March 31. Property and equipment accounted for $111,638 of that total. The foundation’s Grants Committee, chaired by Charles VanDyne, announced it has awarded 148 grants and five bequests. The organization also will award $21,000 in scholarships, making the total being distributed $223,060. A total of 173 applications for grants were received. Funds for grants are generated through earnings on the foundation’s assets. Those who applied for grants will be notified whether or not they were selected through regular U.S. mail. The list of recipients is expected to be released in the next week. Marshall, of Ada, was approved for his executive director role with the foundation after a 39-year career with Liberty National Bank. He served as Executive Vice President/Chief Financial Officer as well as secretary for the bank and holding companies. He is a 1980 graduate of Ohio Northern University, where he earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a dual major in Finance ß and Management. Foundation President Matt Jennings said the organization has been planning on an executive director position for the last seven years. “We knew that as our assets surpassed the $10 million mark, the workload, accounting, audit and financial reporting demands would increase drastically and the time involved in meeting with area organizations and families regarding funds would increase as well,” he said. “As we discussed the creation of this position, Bryan’s name quickly floated to the top of candidates we should consider and after several con[1]versations, Bryan agreed to assume this role on a part[1]time basis. Jennings said, “As a trustee that invests a tremendous amount of time in the day to day operations of the foundation along with Jannette Jacobs, Marie Sprang, Gina Messner and Mary Dickinson, we welcome Bryan’s ability and knowledge as our primary staff member. “With his leadership of the operational side of the foundation, we will continue to grow and build upon the momentum we have established over the last three decades,” he said. Also at the meeting, the trustees approved retaining the current officer team for the 2024-2025 year. They are Matt Jennings, president; Ron Zimmerly, vice president; Jannette Jacobs, treasurer; Gina Messner, assistant treasurer; Mary Dickinson, secretary and Marie Sprang, assistant secretary. Five trustees were reappointed to new seven-year terms on the board. They are Beryl Rogers-Dudek, Lee Ann Loveridge, Don Ritchey, David Schwemer and Charles VanDyne. Kenton Times 04/18/2024

Hardin County